Hatchet Jack Smashes Some Stuff

Well, ol’ Jack has been a bit slow of late. Slow in the head that is. Thick in the head as my pa would say to me. “Son, you got a thick head.”

I heard that a few times.

Every hour.

But you know, kids are resilient and I climbed outta that thick headed thinking about the time I got divorced. The third time, more or less.

So today I was very inspired by our #slaughterhourse4 bunkmate and Camper of the Week @chadsansing. He got to thinking to mash up the daily create and one of the #ds106 assignments. And being a natural blender of things, you know, with the hatchet and all, I figured I chop the heck outta them too. So I did.

I took my #tdc150 Daily Create and smashed it against the #ds106 assignment “an Album Cover.

Here is the original #tdc150 Daily Create

Image

I then and did two of the three required steps in the Make an Album Cover assignment.

In Wikipedia I got this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ACCO A darn acronym.

For the Quotes page I got this: http://www.quotationspage.com/random.php3 The lines are, “adequately explained by stupidity.”

So I made this.

Image

4 thoughts on “Hatchet Jack Smashes Some Stuff

  1. I would love to know what A.C.C.O stands for.

    The submissions for this assignment over the last few days have made me think about how cool it would be to take a narrative frame like this (A band and an album) and use it as a way to do all kinds of other DS106 assignments. I’m not sure what that would look like, but I think it would be fun to explore.

    • The ACCO Wikipedia is linked in post, and one possibility is Canadian College of Organists. Hmmmm.

      Hatchet Jack likes the assignment too. Possibly because he is old enough to have had “records” and always loved the ones with cool covers.

      I like the generation of ideas that continue into other places and ideas. This assignment is certainly doing that and has so many interesting options. Songs from the album… lyrics from the album…. band member biographies….
      Isn’t this really what art is? Taking some stuff and moving forward in creation?

      I had tried this last spring with the ThemDamnJoneses in a way. Group art. You folks have done it with the bunkhouses and mentors and the creation if identities tied to these things. Hatchet jack thinks it is really awesome.

  2. There seems to be a fun meme going. Maybe it ties it to audio assignments, but I can see a narrative type assignment to tell the story of the break up of the band after their smash album success.

Leave a Reply

